Wednesday , December 7 2022
Home / News / Plateau Assembly Crisis Worsens As Hoodlums Vandalise Chamber

Plateau Assembly Crisis Worsens As Hoodlums Vandalise Chamber

Hoodlums on Thursday night vandalised the complex of the Plateau Assembly.

The vandalisation shocked Speaker Yakubu Sanda-led faction during a visit to assess the level of damage on Friday morning.

The faction, after the visit, proceeded to hold an emergency plenary to, in their words, consider “matters of State importance.”
Twelve Assembly members led by Sanda held the emergency plenary on Friday.

Sanda presided over the plenary, which lasted for just 25 minutes. He listed matters to consider as the screening of the Chairman and members of Plateau State Independent Electoral Commission (PLASIEC) as communicated by Governor Simon Lalong as well as the consideration of the 2022 appropriation bill.

Before the discussion, the Majority Leader, Naanlong Daniel, said he “received an apology from Hon. Philip Dasun but he said he is with us. I could not get Hon. Abok Ayuba and Hon. Henry Longs on phone. I don’t know where they are but the Minority Leader said he travelled to the village, hopefully, he will join us next week.”

But the 12 lawmakers called for the standing down of the screening because the “House was not conducive.”
It also stood down deliberations on the Appropriation Bill.

Members in plenary through a motion raised by the Majority Leader, Naanlong Daniel, appealed that the Assembly be relocated to the Old Government House in Rayfield so that legislative businesses can continue pending when the Chamber would be fixed.

It was littered with broken glasses and damaged furniture. Air conditioners and other items were also destroyed.
Security agencies were drafted to keep vigil at the Complex following the vandalisation.

The Commissioner of Police, Bartholomew Onyeka, he simply said: “I am not competent to speak on this matter.”

But the Abok Ayuba- led faction faulted the Plenary Session before it held.

In a statement endorsed by “Rt. Hon. Abok Ayuba (APC) – Speaker – Jos East, Hon. Peter Gyendeng (PDP) – Minority Leader – Barkin Ladi, Hon. Philip Dasun (APC) – Deputy Majority Leader – Pankshin North, Hon. Solhchang Zingtim (PDP) – Minority Whip – Langtang South, Hon. (Mrs.) Esther Dusu (PDP) – Jos North West, Hon. Bala Fwangje (PDP) – Mangu South, Hon. Musa Avia (PDP) – Rukuba Irigwe, Hon. Henry Longs (APC) – Pankshin South, Hon. From Gwottson (PDP) – Jos South, Hon. Timothy Dantong (PDP) – Riyom,Hon. Pirfa Tyem (PDP) – Langtang North – North, Hon. Daniel Listick (PDP) – Langtang North – Central,” the faction said the Plenary was against the Standing Orders of the House.


Spread the love ...let others enjoy this story

Check Also

CJN Not Under DSS Investigation – Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Nigeria has dismissed an insinuation that the Chief Justice of Nigeria …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.